HOME >  Global knowledge Network  > General Assembly

General Assembly

Network Division


・Xiongwen Lu
Dean, School of Management, Fudan University, China

Deputy Director

・Noor Azizi Ismail
Dean, Othman Yeop Abdullah Graduate School of Business, Universiti Utara Malaysia, Malaysia

Network Committee


・Popy Rufaidah
Lecturer, Faculty of Economics and Business, Universitas Padjadjaran, Indonesia

Vice Chair

・Alberto L. Buenviaje
Dean, Ateneo Graduate School of Business, Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines

General Assembly for 2014

On Saturday, March 8, 2014, starting 10:00 a.m., General Assembly for 2014 was held at the Tokyo Campus of University of Tsukuba after the Board Meeting. Reports included items approved at the Board Meeting, followed by exchange of opinions. All items ratified at the Board Meeting were ratified, including notification of change of ABEST21’s status from an NPO to a general incorporated association effective April 2014, which was ratified at the extraordinary general assembly in July 2013. Concerning the contents of ABEST21 Annual Report 2013, opinions were exchanged on collecting participation fees for meetings as part of the measures to improve ABEST21 financial condition. Before closing, accreditation certificates for 2013 were granted. As a celebration, speech was given by Dr. med. Setiawan, Professor and Vice Rector of Universitas Padjadjaran of Indonesia on "Enhancing the Quality of Higher Education in Indonesia" which explained BAN-PT evaluation system of the Indonesian government.

General Assembly for 2013

On March 9, 2013, ABEST21 General Assembly 2013 was held at the International Conference Hall of Aoyama Gakuin University. The General Assembly was chaired by Professor Ming Yu Cheng and the following items were ratified.

  • On borrowing Loan from Japan FinanceCorporation
  • On approving the ABEST21 Business Accreditation2012
  • School of Business and Management, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia
  • Master of Management program, Faculty of Economics, Universitas Indonesia, Indonesia.
  • On approving ABEST21 Financial Statement 2011 / 2012
  • On publicizing ABEST21 Annual Report 2012
  • On electing ABEST21 President The General Assembly ratified Fumio Itoh as next President. The term is two years from April 1, 2013 to March 31, 2015.
  • On appointing the Vice President, the Executive Secretary and AuditorsDepending on ABEST21 Bylaw-Article 5, President Itoh appointed four Vice Presidents for the term starting April 1, 2013 till March 31, 2015:
    • ・Director, Ilker Baybars (Carnegie Mellon University)
    • ・Director, Xiongwen Lu (Fudan University)
    • ・Director, Robert S. Sullivan (University of California San Diego)
    • ・Director, Oleg Vikhanskiy (Moscow State University)
    • ・Executive Secretary, Ming Yu Cheng (Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman)
    • ・Auditor, Koichi Saito (Nanzan University)
    • ・Auditor, Ms. Nobue Susie Brown (University of Texas at Austin)
  • On appointing the Board members
  • On revising ABEST21 Business Accreditation Fees
  • On appointing Chairs of the Accreditation Committee and Peer Review Committee
  • On hotel accommodation fees and transportation fees
  • On holding the Chiang Mai Conference in Chiang Mai University on July 4-6, 2013

General Assembly for 2012

The General Assembly for 2012 was held at Nissan Global Headquarters on Friday, March 2. Activity reports were given by the Committees for Accreditation, Membership, Research and Network. Report on accreditation results for 2011 and ABEST21 new school members was given by the President. They were approved as a result of review.
ABEST21 regular Board of Trustees Meeting was held at Nissan Global Headquarters Meeting Room on Friday, March 2, 2012. The main agenda was approval of accreditation for business schools and mutual assessment for overseas business schools in 2011. Based on the report of the Accreditation Committee, Waseda Business School (Japan), Global Masters in Business Administration, SP Jain Center of Management (Singapore) and Master programs in Accounting and Management, Faculty of Economics and Business, Universiti Brawijaya (Indonesia) were certified respectively.
At the Meeting it was decided to reorganize the structure of ABEST21 to promote its reform. Specifically, the Board of Trustees which now consists of 14 members will be reduced to 5 members, and the Advisory Council will expand from the current 5 to 20 members. This aims to reinforce the functions of the Advisory Council including opinion offering. As a result of this reorganization, the Advisory Councilis placed to reinforce opinion offering to the Board of Trustees in the organization chart. In addition, the number of auditors was increased to 3 members from the current 2 members so as to enhance auditing system of ABEST21 operations and assets status.